Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Toad Livestream Gratitude

I have had a cold since pretty much the middle of January. Thought I’d gotten out from under it for a couple of days, but sadly it returned with a vengeance. I’m only telling you this because I’ve been missing out on a lot of things, lately. Mommy & Me classes and music classes… even a day of work for my friend. That last part was a particularly bitter pill, but I’ve been stupidly exhausted and felt vaguely toxic, like I should come with a warning label that reads: Not Fit for Public Consumption.

In short, I’ve spent a lot of time on my couch, feeling trapped. So you can imagine how excited I was to learn that Toad was doing a livestream performance. True, it wasn’t the full concert experience that many of my friends have been road tripping to get (and that I’ve been jealously reading about). But it was Toad, live(stream), up close and personal. For 15 minutes, I got to forget about my cold and lose myself in the sheer joy that is their music. Hooray!

We spend a lot of time debating what the online age has taken from us, and I have no doubt there is validity in many of the arguments. But occasionally I get reminded of what we’ve been given, and this was one of those times. I got to sit on my couch, sick and in my sweats and watch my favorite band perform. How cool is that?

