Tags

, , , ,

Carole King Sara BareillesLorde GrammysGrammys Imagine Dragons Gratitude

Kaycee Musgraves Grammys

I love music. My tastes are varied but also very specific. I make up my mind nearly instantly, and the singers or bands that make me happiest may not always be the most popular. There are plenty of popular bands whose music does nothing for me… too many. But there are just as many newer bands that totally excite me, so it’s not like I can’t appreciate the current stuff. I just like what I like.

There were only a couple of Grammy winners I would have chosen, had it been up to me. I was happy just to agree on any count; there have been years I didn’t watch because there was a giant disconnect between my taste and almost all popular music. This year was better. I love Lorde, Imagine Dragons, Macklemore, Ed Sheeran (who was nominated but didn’t perform), Bruno Mars and Daft Punk (although the latter not nearly as much as the Grammy voters did). The performances were awesome. I wasn’t a fan of every pairing, but there were plenty of great ones.

I loved Carole King and Sara Bareilles. My only complaint is that I could have happily watched Carole King sing her own songs all night. Still, this was terrific. Imagine Dragons and Kendrick Lamar killed it! Macklemore, Ryan Lewis, Mary Lambert… the Madonna part was really weird (and what the hell happened to her? I swear she aged 20 years all at once!), but otherwise that was the feel-great moment of the night. Daft Punk, Pharrell and Stevie Wonder, who is so incredible he seems right whoever he’s paired with. Pink was fun to watch… astonishing, even. She can sing her face off, but it was tough to focus on that given her stunning display of aerial acrobatics. So glad she didn’t screw that up! She was making me nervous.

I admit I had never heard of Kaycee Musgraves before that night, but I really liked her (and I am not typically a huge fan of current country). The song was totally likeable, the lyrics kicked butt, and how cute was she? She made even light-up boots and a dress that looked like a 70’s lampshade look adorable! Oh, and of course Willie, Kris Kristofferson, Merle Haggard and Blake Shelton. I grew up on this music (well, not Blake Shelton). Those guys might be a bit worse for wear, but they’re still cool in my book. I was happily singing along.

On the other hand, I am not a big fan of Beyonce or Jay Z. Their performance seemed more uncomfortable than hot to me. Awkward, even. Does this make me old? Also, I love Lorde, but prefer not to watch her perform. The mix of Morticia Addams and 40’s nightclub singer freaks me out. This girl takes the expression “old soul” to a new place. Let me reiterate: I love her songs. Love them. Her Grammy acceptance speech (coupled with her genuine astonishment) was lovely. I just can’t watch her sing. Or dance.

I had fun watching the Grammys. I let Braeden stay up late because he loves this kind of thing as much as I do, and it was fun to sit and share the experience with him. It was three and a half hours of pure escape, always a blessing. The awards themselves seemed secondary, which was just as well since I only agreed with a couple of them. No matter… the show was great. Memorable and totally entertaining. I was happy to be watching.

