Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Calendar Gratitude

To be honest, I was not filled with gratitude yesterday. I put my son on a bus to head to Outdoor Science School for four days, and started missing him almost immediately. So much so, in fact, that I started coughing and hacking only hours after he left. By that night, I had a nasty sinus headache. Historically giant surges of emotion have often turned into illness of one sort or another. That’s just how I roll.

Last night I got up to go to the bathroom and realized the nightlight in Braeden’s room had been left on. It was so strange to see that light and know that he was not sleeping in his own bed. I thought of the catch phrase from the Motel 6 commercial, “We’ll leave the light on for you.” And I did. It’s still on, waiting for my son to come home.

Basically, on Day 14 I was only grateful that Friday was only a few short days away.

