Tags

, , , , , , , ,

On Day Eight, I am grateful for this guy:

Image

His name is Glen Phillips, and he was once and is again the lead singer of Toad the Wet Sprocket. He’s also a brilliant solo artist. I started with Toad, but I actually prefer Glen solo.There’s a quiet intimacy when it’s just Glen and his guitar that should not be missed.

His voice and his lyrics have been taking me to a better place since 1991. When I’m in a bad place, they remind me that I’m not alone, after all.  He is, to quote his own lyrics, “random, warm and mesmerizing.” (In the song the lyrics don’t actually refer to him. That would be weird. Still, I think they work when aimed in his direction as well.) Live, his music is completely and utterly transcendent. It’s a gift just to be in the audience.

He is smart, self-deprecating and his words make me think about things in a way I might not otherwise. He shifts my perspective.

In case it’s not obvious, I love him to pieces. I suppose that makes me biased, but it doesn’t mean I’m wrong. Check out his stuff at http://www.glenphillips.com. You won’t regret it.

