Tags

, , , , ,

No, this one isn’t about diet, weight or body image. Fair guess, though, considering. Chris has another interview tomorrow. This one is for a short, contract position. The employment agency claims it has the potential to be more, but Chris and I are pretty much ignoring that part. I’m not sure either of us quite believes in “permanent” as it relates to jobs, anymore. But we’d certainly thrilled to have even a few weeks of income. It’s the same type of company, again. I honestly had no clue there could be this many of them out there, but apparently there can. So the good news is that Chris is insanely overqualified for this temp position. They are looking to have a particular project done in the space of three weeks. Since Chris recently did something seven times as large in the space of only one week, that’s not a problem. The bad news: the project is only three weeks long, and they want him to work 30 hours a week. I suppose at least they are up front about things. The joke is, it doesn’t make any sense. It’s through an agency, and the rate is hourly. They aren’t paying benefits, so they gain nothing by having someone work 30 hours a week for three weeks rather than 40 for two. The only logic I can imagine is that maybe they’re setting up the employee’s expectations so if they ever do hire him or her, it would be clear that they never intended to offer benefits?

So if he gets it, does he work insanely slowly to stretch things out so that he can be paid for three weeks? Unless they parcel out the information he needs very, very slowly, there is no way a project of this size would take him that long. I’m not sure how to view this from an ethical standpoint. Also, if he bangs it out at a normal rate he might impress them, but that doesn’t mean they’d have more work waiting, either. Would he split the difference and slow down but not take the full three weeks to finish it?

I’m getting ahead of myself here. He has the interview tomorrow. Who knows what will happen? Just  because he’s brilliant and overqualified doesn’t mean he’ll get it. God knows I should know that by now. I feel sometimes like I am teasing people by writing about this stuff. I know a lot of people out there are wishing him and our family well, and it’s hard to think help – in the form of a job – has finally arrived only to have it vanish again in the blink of an eye. I, on the other hand, feel like the universe has been teasing us for ages. Our hopes go up and down, up and down. It’s emotionally devastating every single time.

I’ve never been good with yo-yos; I have zero eye-hand coordination. I took a tennis class in college, a pass/fail course. The instructor suggested I drop it midway through because he saw no improvement. But I digress, as usual. I would be really, really happy to have income even if it’s only for a couple of weeks, especially since both kids have birthdays within the next six weeks. Money does help. But again, who knows? He could just as easily not get the job, or get it and have it vanish within a couple of days. We’ve seen it all. Nothing surprises me anymore. So if this fails to pan out in any respect, you’ve been warned. You’ll get no promises from me, no dreamy speeches about what money could mean for my family. We all know the drill. Still, even three weeks of marginally less stress would be so nice. And here we go….

