I went to bed last night knowing that today probably wasn’t going to be a great day, as Chris and I were both fairly upset about the job situation. This morning, I woke up, rolled over and grabbed my Nook to check my email. Last night I sent out an email, complaining to a friend about the miserable change in circumstance. It’s never fun to share bad news, and I knew there was nothing that he could do to fix things, but still, sometimes venting is necessary. Good for the soul. Also, I suffer from insomnia. When I can’t sleep it’s often a better idea to vent my angst via email than it is to lie awake, dwelling on one more thing I can’t change (or at least not in the middle of the night).

I am fortunate to have friends willing to deal with these late-night emails, which are filled with the often-dubious contents of my head. When I woke up this morning, there was a response waiting, a response that contained an unexpected compliment. It was a small thing, but because of it I woke up smiling from ear to ear instead of starting the day on the miserable note I expected. It’s the small things that make the biggest difference.

